HomeAbout UsWine ReviewsArchivesAdvertiseContact Us

THE GRAPEVINE

Wine Columns

Wine Reviews

WineReviewOnline.com on Twitter

Critics Challenge International Wine Competition

Sommelier Challenge International Wine Competition

Winemaker Challenge International Wine Competition

Featured Articles

Whitley On Wine: Sommelier Challenge 2013 Results
Robert Whitley
Oct 7, 2013



Albariño: A Gastronomic Pilgrimage
Marguerite Thomas
May 6, 2008

You can drink a specific wine. You can read books and magazine articles about it. You may even catch a TV documentary describing it and the place it comes from. But sometimes the only way to truly understand certain wines is to visit their country of origin, specifically the region where the grapes are grown and some of the wineries there. Albariño is just such a wine.



The Comeback Trail
Robert Whitley
Jan 1, 2008

You probably don't stay awake at night worrying about the legion of grape growers tending hundreds of thousands of acres of Chardonnay vines in a world suddenly infatuated by leaner, crisper white wines. Neither do I. I do wonder, though, how long it will take to repair the damage done to the world's most important white wine grape by two decades of winemaking excess.



Sparkling Suggestions for the Holidays
Ed McCarthy
Nov 27, 2007

Is it just me, or do we all need Champagne more than ever this year? At any rate, what would the convivial holidays and family get-togethers be without some bubbly? If you'll be ordering or buying Champagne or sparkling wine for the holidays, I'll attempt to make your task easier. I've grouped my bubbly wine suggestions into three categories: inexpensive but decent sparkling wines for big parties; good-value, non-vintage Brut Champagnes and other moderately-priced sparkling wines for smaller groups and family gatherings, and Top Champagnes and sparkling wines for special occasions.



High-Alcohol Wines: Boon or Bane?
Gerald D. Boyd
Nov 6, 2007

In wine circles today, a topic generating a lot of buzz is high alcohol wines. Over the past few years, the amount of alcohol in a finished wine, especially reds, has crept up from a respectable 12.5% to more than 15%. The reasons for this alcohol escalation are many and varied, depending on who is being asked.



Bordeaux 2006: Variable, with Superb Peaks
Michael Apstein
Jun 5, 2007

Variable is the best way to describe the 2006 vintage in Bordeaux--except for the dry whites, which are consistently excellent. That's my assessment after tasting about 250 wines--all barrel samples--in Bordeaux last month. Although general variability suggests caution as a rule, some properties, such as Château Mouton and Château Lafite Rothschild, made fabulous wines, and some châteaux actually made better wine in 2006 than 2005.

2006 Red Bordeaux Reviews
Michael Apstein
Jun 5, 2007



Under-Appreciated Napa Cabernets
Linda Murphy
Apr 3, 2007

When it comes to Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon, those priced under $50 can fall into no-man's land--they're not expensive enough to attract attention from 'serious' buyers and collectors, yet are too expensive for bargain hunters. Yet many under-$50 Napa Cabs taste as good, and in some cases better, than their more expensive counterparts.